Back Like I Never Left

Apologies for my brief sabbatical. Life has been happening and as a result, it’s been a few weeks since I last updated you all on the Germany excursion and the trip is long over now. It is what it is. Here is what the last portion of the trip entailed. The final leg took place in Munich. Following this post will be the 6th and final required journal that I stated I would post for you all as well.

January 19th, we visited Kiron Open Education. Kiron “uses an innovative combination of online and offline learning to provide accessible, sustainable, and cost-effective education.” They also work very closely with refugees and asylum seekers who are usually in the process of applying for German citizenship.

IMG_0050.jpg

Finally, Technical University of Munich (TUM) is where the trip wrapped on January 20th. TUM is a research university with multiple campuses and is one of Germany’s most notable institutes of technology.

The next day members of the tour group began departing. There was, however, a farewell dinner that evening where those remaining all had the opportunity to openly reflect on our experiences on the trip. Overall, I had a fantastic time and I definitely want to return. As we are all (I hope) aware, Germany (just like the United States and many other places) has a very troubled past. Visiting places where those stories originated was a bit gloomy venturing occasionally over to depressing…BUT…I appreciate how open the culture is about recognizing and educating their citizens and others about the events that have taken place. The monuments, architecture, people, streets, skyline, walls (literally), and food all tell a story which is quite inviting for those wanting to “be apart of the landscape,” or immerse themselves fully in the culture and environment.

IMG_0010.jpg

I also want to share in this post that I’ve created the Black Boy Travel Instagram account! The link can be found in the top right corner of the website. I post photos from all over my adventures in randomized order to keep things fresh. I hope you all enjoy!

 

Leave a comment